General : : Press Release
Wednesday, November 10, 2010

2010 Rawlings Gold Glove (AL)

2010 Rawlings Gold Glove Award®
American League Winners Announced
Ichiro wins 10th consecutive award; Cano, Crawford and Gutierrez earn first defensive honor

ST. LOUIS, MO – November 9, 2010 – Rawlings® unveiled its latest class of American League® Rawlings Gold Glove Award® recipients today during an exclusive telecast on ESPNEWS.  The 2010 winners, recognized as the best defensive players at their respective positions, include three first-time award winners: second baseman Robinson Cano and outfielders Carl Crawford and Franklin Gutierrez.  Outfielder Ichiro Suzuki leads the winners with his 10thconsecutive Rawlings Gold Glove Award.

Other multi-year winners include pitcher Mark Buehrle (second honor), catcher Joe Mauer (3rd), first baseman Mark Teixeira (4th), third baseman Evan Longoria (2nd) and shortstop Derek Jeter (5th).

Rawlings, the #1 worldwide brand in baseball gloves, established the Rawlings Gold Glove Award in 1957 as the greatest measure of fielding excellence.  The award is presented annually to 18 players – one for each position – in both the American and National Leagues.  Winners are selected by Major League Baseball® managers and coaches prior to the conclusion of the regular season.  Managers and coaches may not vote for players from their own club and can only vote for players in their own league.

“Since its inception in 1957, the Rawlings Gold Glove Award has been bestowed on some of the greatest defensive players the game has ever seen, and this year is no exception,” said Mike Thompson, senior vice president of marketing for St. Louis-based Rawlings, a subsidiary of Jarden Team Sports.  “Defense is a cornerstone of the Rawlings’ Brand and we’re proud to recognize defensive excellence at baseball’s highest level.”

Below is the complete roster of 2010 American League Rawlings Gold Glove Award winners and the number of Rawlings Gold Glove Awards each player has won in his career:

Pos Player 2010 Team Award(s) Won
P Mark Buehrle Chicago White Sox 2
C Joe Mauer Minnesota Twins 3
1B Mark Teixeira New York Yankees 4
2B Robinson Cano New York Yankees 1
3B Evan Longoria Tampa Bay Rays 2
SS Derek Jeter New York Yankees 5
OF Carl Crawford Tampa Bay Rays 1
OF Franklin Gutierrez Seattle Mariners 1
OF Ichiro Suzuki Seattle Mariners 10

About the Rawlings Gold Glove Award®
The Rawlings Gold Glove Award® is a registered service mark owned by Rawlings Sporting Goods Company, Inc. The award is correctly identified as the Rawlings Gold Glove Award. The name should not be shortened, abbreviated or otherwise misused.  Proper identification of this service mark using the registration symbol and the Rawlings name is important to protect the integrity of the program and perpetuate this worthy tradition.  For more information, please visit

About Rawlings
Rawlings is a leading manufacturer and marketer of sporting goods in the United States and a subsidiary of Jarden Team Sports.  Since the company’s inception in 1887, Rawlings’ mission has always centered on developing and producing innovative, high-performance equipment and protective apparel for the professional player.  With an assortment of baseball, basketball, football and softball game-related product lines, Rawlings is present everywhere team sports are played.   Leagues and conferences of all skill levels integrate Rawlings’ unparalleled product portfolio into their sports: as the Official Baseball and Official Helmet to Major League Baseball®, the official baseball for the NCAA®, the official football for the NAIA®, the official basketball for the NAIA, NJCAA® and AAU®, the approved baseball, basketball, football and softball of the National High School Federation®.  For more information, please visit, Rawlings’ Facebook page or by phone at (314) 819-2800.

About Jarden Corporation
Jarden Corporation is a leading provider of niche consumer products. Jarden operates in three primary business segments through a number of well recognized brands, including: Outdoor Solutions: Abu Garcia®, Berkley®, Campingaz® and Coleman®, Fenwick®, Gulp!®, K2®, Marker®, Marmot®, Mitchell®, Penn®, Rawlings®, Shakespeare®, Stearns®, Stren®, Trilene®, Volkl® and Zoot®Consumer Solutions: Bionaire®, Crock-Pot®, FoodSaver®, Health o meter®, Holmes®,   Mr. Coffee®, Oster®, Patton®, Rival®, Seal-a-Meal®, Sunbeam®, VillaWare® and White Mountain®; and Branded Consumables: Ball®, Bee®, Bicycle®, Billy Boy®, Crawford®, Diamond®, Dicon®, First Alert®, Forster®, Hoyle®, Kerr®, Lehigh®, Leslie-Locke®, Loew Cornell®, Mapa®, NUK®, Pine Mountain® and Spontex®. Headquartered in RyeN.Y., Jarden has more than 25,000 employees worldwide. For more information, please visit
Copyright 1994-2018 by Perfect Game. All rights reserved. No portion of this information may be reprinted or reproduced without the written consent of Perfect Game.