Tournaments | Championship | 7/2/2020

5 Star National Claims Third Consecutive BCS Title

Julia Krzeminski        
Photo: 5 Star National (Perfect Game)
FORT MYERS, FL.—The morning of July 1st, 2020 was not your typical championship game day. Due to weather delays the day before, many of the quarterfinal games had to be moved to the morning of July 1st. This posed a new challenge for all teams fighting for the 16u BCS National Championship as it meant having to win two back to back games and then competing in the championship right after. Despite these circumstances, 5 Star National 16u Burress and the Florida Burn 2022 Platinum were set to face off in the championship game. 

For one team however, this game meant more than just another championship. Winning this game would make the 5 Star National team three-time BCS championship winners in just three years.

Coach Andy Burress told PG, “This is the most different group I have had. They won the 14u, 15u, and now this 16u BCS”. After losing in the championship of the 2020 16u National Elite tournament, Burress said his team “had something to prove and wanted to come out and make a statement”. 

With something to prove and a goal to reach, 5 Star National came to the plate in the top of the first and showed everyone how badly they wanted their third BCS title.

First to the plate was Gage Harrelson who started his team off with a ground ball to third for a single. Clayton Tipton of the Florida Burn then gave up a walk and a line drive to left for a single from Hunter Russell. With runners on second and third, Sal Stewart delivered a sac fly to right for an RBI, putting the team’s first run on the board. 

Next up was Blaydon Plain who brought in two more runs with a line drive to left. Following right behind Plain, Isaiah Lowe hit a line drive off the left field wall, feet away from being a home run. Lowe’s powerful hit resulted in two RBIs and the score went up to 5-0. 

Lane Essary of 5 Star National came to the mound in the bottom of the first and pitched a scoreless first inning. Both he and Florida Burn pitcher Stephen Deans then pitched a scoreless second inning. 

The Florida Burn finally put a run on the board when the bottom of the third came around. A ground ball to second from Cole Schumaker followed by Joseph Urban’s line drive to left for a double put the Florida Burn in scoring position at second and third. Luis Garrido then allowed Schumaker to score off of his pop fly to right. At the end of three innings, the score was 5-1, with 5 Star National still in the lead. 

It was three up three down for both Stephen Deans of the Florida Burn and Lane Essary of 5 Star National during the fourth inning. 

Not satisfied with their four run lead, 5 Star National began to tack on more runs in the top of the fifth. Chris Stanfield got on base first with a line drive to center for a single. He was then joined by Gage Harrelson after he was walked. Both Stanfield and Harrelson were brought in by Davis Green who hit a pop fly to second base that went uncaught. Delivering the third RBI of the inning, Hunter Russell hit an uncatchable pop fly to short which brought in Green. 

5 Star National ended the inning with a now 7 run lead and a score of 8-1 after a scoreless inning for the Florida Burn. 

The Florida Burn was able to hold 5 Star National at a 7 run lead throughout the sixth, but couldn’t hold on through the seventh. 

Jaxson West and Tanner Knowles were the first two on base from 5 Star National after being walked, but were later joined by Nicolas Perez who hit a pop fly to first base that couldn't be caught. After Perez, Gage Harrelson came to the plate to hit an RBI ground ball to short. Next at the plate was Davis Green who hit this third and fourth RBI of the game with a line drive to left. 

In the bottom of the seventh, 5 Star National pitcher Patric Menk only saw three batters before ending the game with a final score of 11-1 and with the team’s third BCS National title. 

Sal Stewart of 5 Star National and Luis Garrido of the Florida Burn were named the CO-MVPs of the 16u BCS National Championship. 

Drew Nelson was named the MVP Pitcher for the 16u BCS National Championship.  
 Give us your feedback
Copyright 1994-2020 by Perfect Game. All rights reserved. No portion of this information may be reprinted or reproduced without the written consent of Perfect Game.