PG is launching a new and convenient checkout for all registrations! Use our improved ACH process instead of purchasing by credit card and save 3.5% on associated technology fees.
All American Game | Story | 8/31/2020

The Classic: By the numbers

Jeff Dahn     
Photo: Freddie Freeman (Perfect Game)

PG All-American Classic History Index

SAN DIEGO – The 18th annual Perfect Game All-American Classic will be played Friday, Sept. 4, 2020 at Chickasaw Bricktown Ballpark in downtown Oklahoma City, Okla, with coverage on Perfect Game.TV beginning at 3:30 p.m. (CDT).the first-pitch scheduled for 5:18 p.m. (PDT).

This year’s Classic showcases the extraordinary talents of 54 of amateur baseball’s most highly regarded prospects from the national high school graduating class of 2021. The prospects will arrive in Oklahoma City on Wednesday, Sept.2, and enjoy three days of both baseball and non-baseball activities leading up to Friday afternoon’s game.

The first Perfect Game All-American Classic was played in August 2003 at Hammond Stadium in Fort Myers, Fla.; Maryland righthander Nick Adenhart made the start for the East Team while Texas righty Homer Bailey took the ball for the West Team.

More than 820 players have followed in their footsteps over the past 17 years, and as the list that follows this introduction so vividly illustrates, many of the Classic’s distinguished alumni have reached the highest rungs on the Major League Baseball ladder.

There are, however, numbers that supersede those representing all the on-field successes. This is the first time that Chickasaw Bricktown Ballpark, the home of the Oklahoma City Dodgers, the L.A. Dodgers Triple-A affiliate, after being hosted by Petco Park in San Diego for the last 11 years.

This year, the PG Cares 
Perfect Game’s is collaborating with Toby Keith's OK Kids Korral in fund-raising efforts to benefit research in to finding a cure for pediatric cancer. Over the history of the event, the PG All-American Classic has raised over $1.1 million to benefit such research.

That is, indeed, the most impressive number associated with the Perfect Game All-American Classic. On the baseball side of the ledger, what follows is another look at the Classic, by the numbers …

• 824 total participants
• 199 MLB players
• 235 first-round draft picks
• 734 total draft picks
• 42 U.S. states represented (plus Canada, Puerto Rico and the Dominican Republic)

No. 1 overall picks in the MLB Draft: 9

Matt Bush, 2004 (Padres)
Justin Upton, 2005 (Diamondbacks)
Tim Beckham, 2008 (Rays)
Bryce Harper, 2010 (Nationals)
Gerrit Cole, 2011 (Pirates)
Carlos Correa, 2012 (Astros)
Brady Aiken, 2014 (Astros)
Mickey Moniak, 2016 (Phillies)
Royce Lewis, 2017 (Twins)

Major League Baseball Most Valuable Players: 4

Buster Posey, National League, 2012
Andrew McCutchen, National League, 2013
Bryce Harper, National League, 2015
Kris Bryant, National League, 2016

Major League Baseball Cy Young Awards: 1

Rick Porcello, American League, 2016

Major League Baseball Rookies of the Year: 7

Buster Posey, National League, 2010
Jeremy Hellickson, American League, 2011
Bryce Harper, National League, 2012
Jose Fernandez, National League, 2013
Kris Bryant, National League, 2015
Carlos Correa, American League, 2015
Corey Seager, National League, 2016

 Give us your feedback
Copyright 1994-2021 by Perfect Game. All rights reserved. No portion of this information may be reprinted or reproduced without the written consent of Perfect Game.