General : : Press Release
Wednesday, November 9, 2016

10 PG alums earn Rawlings GG's

Jeff Dahn        
Photo: Perfect Game

CEDAR RAPIDS, Iowa – The Chicago Cubs and Cleveland Indians reached this year’s World Series because they had MLB All-Star caliber players that could hit, pitch and field their defensive positions better than just about anyone else in Major League Baseball.

The 2016 Rawlings Gold Glove Awards winners were announced Tuesday night, handed out to the 18 players – nine each from the American and National leagues – opposing managers and coaches considered to be the best defensive players at their respective positions.

Ten of the 
defensive wizards participated in Perfect Game events during their high school years – seven in the National League and three in the American League – and were among the 18 players awarded. That number included first baseman Anthony Rizzo and right-fielder Jason Heyward from the World Champion Cubs, and shortstop Francisco Lindor from the Series’ runner-up Indians.

Heyward and Lindor are two of three 2016 Rawlings Gold Glove Award winners that are alumni of the Perfect Game All-American Classic; Heyward played in the 2006 game and Lindor in 2010. They are joined by San Francisco Giants catcher Buster Posey, who played in the 2004 Classic.

Five of the Rawlings Gold Glovers were also alumni of the PG National Showcase: Posey (2004), Heyward (2006), Rizzo (2006), Lindor (2010) and Colorado Rockies third baseman Nolan Arenado (2008).

Heyward and Arenado each received their fourth Rawlings Gold Glove, while Posey, Rizzo and Lindor were honored for the first time in their big-league careers. Other National League Rawlings Gold Glove recipients with PG backgrounds were Diamondbacks’ pitcher Zack Greinke (3rd GG), Giant’s shortstop Brandon Crawford (2nd) and Giants’ second baseman Joe Panik (1st).

Tampa Bay Rays center-fielder Kevin Kiermaier (2nd GG) and Boston Red Sox right-fielder Mookie Betts (1st) joined Lindor on the American League side as players with a PG history.

In all, 27 former PGer’s were included among the 54 Rawlings Gold Glove finalists (three at each position in both leagues). Six alumni of the PG All-American Classic were among the finalists: Posey; Heyward; Lindor; D.J. LeMahieu, Rockies (2006); Eric Hosmer, Royals (2007) and Addison Russell, Cubs (2011).




Francisco Lindor, Cleveland Indians – 2010 PG All-American Classic; 2010 PG National Showcase; 2009 PG Junior National Showcase; 2008-10 PG WWBA World Championship; 2008-10 PG WWBA tournaments

Center Field:

Kevin Kiermaier, Tampa Bay Rays – 2008 PG WWBA tournaments

Right Field:

Mookie Betts, Boston Red Sox – 2011 PG WWBA, PG BCS tournaments



Zack Greinke, Arizona Diamondbacks – 2001-02 PG World Showcase; 2001-02 PG WWBA World Championship


Buster Posey, San Francisco Giants – 2004 PG All-American Classic; 2004 PG National Showcase; 2003-04 PG WWBA World Championship; 2003-05 PG WWBA tournaments

First Base:

Anthony Rizzo, Chicago Cubs – 2006 PG National Showcase; 2005-06 PG WWBA World Championship; 2005-2006 PG WWBA tournaments; 2005-06 PG showcases

Second Base:

Joe Panik, San Francisco Giants – 2005-07 PG WWBA tournaments

Third Base:

Nolan Arenado, Colorado Rockies – 2008 PG National Showcase; 2007-08 PG WWBA World Championship; 2007-08 PG WWBA tournaments; 2007-08 PG showcases


Brandon Crawford, San Francisco Giants – 2004 PG WWBA tournaments

Right Field:

Jason Heyward, Chicago Cubs – 2006 PG All-American Classic; 2006 PG National Showcase; 2005-06 PG WWBA World Championship; 2004-06 PG WWBA tournaments; 2004-06 PG showcases

Copyright 1994-2019 by Perfect Game. All rights reserved. No portion of this information may be reprinted or reproduced without the written consent of Perfect Game.