Create Account
Sign in Create Account
College  | Story  | 5/27/2012

Tracking automatic bids

Kendall Rogers     

Thirty teams earn automatic qualification to the NCAA Tournament. The other 34 berths are determined through an at-large selection process. Here are the automatic bids earned so far. The NCAA will announce the at-large selections hosting regionals Sunday, May 27 and the rest of the field Monday, May 28.

Teams earning automatic bids to NCAA regionals
Team Conference Record Berth Last NCAA appearance
Stony Brook America East 46-11 Won tourney 2010 (Myrtle Beach Regional)
Georgia Tech Atlantic Coast 36-24 Won tourney 2011 (Atlanta Regional)
Belmont Atlantic Sun 39-22 Won tourney 2011 (Nashville Regional)
Dayton Atlantic 10 31-28 Won tourney First appearance
Missouri Big 12 32-26 Won tourney 2009 (Oxford Regional)
St. John's Big East 37-21 Won tourney 2011 (Charlottesville Regional)
Coastal Carolina Big South 41-17 Won tourney 2011 (Clemson Regional)
Purdue Big Ten 44-12 Won tourney 1987 (Starkville Regional)
Cal State Fullerton Big West 35-19 Won regular season 2011 (Fullerton Regional)
UNC Wilmington Colonial 38-21 Won tourney 2008 (Cary Regional)
Alabama-Birmingham Conference USA 32-28 Won tourney 1991 (Austin Regional)
Valparaiso Horizon 35-23 Won tourney 1968 (District IV Tournament)
Cornell Ivy League 31-15-1 Won tourney 1977 (Storrs Regional)
Manhattan Metro Atlantic 33-25 Won tourney 2011 (Gainesville Regional)
Kent State Mid-American 41-17 Won tourney 2011 (Austin Regional)
Bethune-Cookman Mid-Eastern Athletic 35-24 Won tourney 2011 (Tallahassee Regional)
Creighton Missouri Valley 26-28 Won tourney 2011 (Corvallis Regional)
New Mexico Mountain West 36-22 Won tourney 2011 (Tempe Regional)
Sacred Heart Northeast 24-30 Won tourney 2011 (Clemson Regional)
Austin Peay Ohio Valley 38-22 Won tourney 2011 (Atlanta Regional)
UCLA Pacific 12 42-14 Won regular season 2011 (Los Angeles Regional)
Army Patriot 41-13 Won tourney 2009 (Austin Regional)
Mississippi State Southeastern 39-22 Won tourney 2011 (Atlanta Regional)
Samford Southern 39-21 Won tourney First appearance
Texas-Arlington Southland 36-23 Won tourney 2006 (Austin Regional)
Prairie View A&M Southwestern Athletic 28-23 Won tourney 2007 (Houston Regional)
Oral Roberts Summit 37-23 Won tourney 2011 (Fort Worth Regional)
Louisiana-Monroe Sun Belt 31-28 Won tourney 2000 (Baton Rouge Regional)
Pepperdine West Coast 34-21 Won regular season 2008 (Stanford Regional)
Fresno State Western Athletic 30-26 Won tourney 2011 (Los Angeles Regional)