PG is launching a new and convenient checkout for all registrations! Use our improved ACH process instead of purchasing by credit card and save 3.5% on associated technology fees.
All American Game | Story | 8/24/2021

Green, Heyman Join Heralded Groups

Blake Dowson     
Photo: Elijah Green (Perfect Game)
There are certain levels of stardom when it comes to prep prospects. Each year, there is a small top group of players who, when they walk onto the dirt, everyone surrounding the field stops what they are doing and takes notice. People watching games on other fields walk over to watch. These are players who typically turn themselves into Perfect Game All-Americans.

Among All-Americans, there is the select group destined to hear their name called in the first round of the upcoming MLB Draft. Chop it up further, and every once in a while there are rare players who just have an aura about them, with true 1:1 potential. Elijah Green fits that description, as the No. 1 player in the 2022 class and 2021 Jackie Robinson Player of the Year Award winner.

Green joins a group of past Jackie Robinson Award winners who have largely gone on to become first round picks and MLB regulars.

Name Year Draft
Jordan Lawlar 2020 1st Round, 2021
Blaze Jordan 2019 3rd Round, 2020
Bobby Witt Jr 2018 1st Round, 2019
Kumar Rocker 2017 1st Round, 2021
Hunter Greene 2016 1st Round, 2017
Jason Groome 2015 1st Round, 2016
Dazmon Cameron 2014 1st Round, 2015
Nicholas Gordon 2013 1st Round, 2014
Clint Frazier 2012 1st Round, 2013
Lance McCullers 2011 1st Round, 2012
Daniel Norris 2010 2nd Round, 2011
Bryce Harper 2009 1st Round, 2010
Mychal Givens 2008 2nd Round, 2009
Tim Melville 2007 4th Round, 2008
Michael Burgess 2006 1st Round, 2010
Cody Johnson 2005 1st Round, 2006
Justin Upton 2004 1st Round, 2005

Likewise, Luke Heyman joins a group of Perfect Game All-American Classic MVP award winners who have gone on to do great things in the sport.

Heyman, a Florida commit and No. 3 catching prospect in the 2022 class, showcased his big-time power potential during the Classic by roping a line drive home run into the left field bleachers during the third inning, while also drawing a walk.

Below is a list of past Perfect Game All-American Classic MVPs, led off by a pair of All-Americans who chose to forgo the draft to fulfill their commitments to prestigious academic institutions.

Name Year Draft
Alex Mooney 2020 Enrolled at Duke
Drew Bowser 2019 Enrolled at Stanford
Corbin Carroll 2018 1st Round, 2019
Nolan Gorman 2017 1st Round, 2018
Royce Lewis 2016 1st Round, 2017
Carlos Cortes 2015 3rd Round, 2018
Kolby Allard 2014 1st Round, 2015
Jakson Reetz 2013 3rd Round, 2014
Ryan Boldt 2012 2nd Round, 2016
Joey Gallo 2011 1st Round, 2012
Tyler Marlette 2010 5th Round, 2011
Tony Wolters 2009 3rd Round, 2010
Brian Goodwin 2008 1st Round, 2011
Tim Beckham 2007 1st Round, 2008
Christian Colon 2006 1st Round, 2010
Devin Shepherd 2005 5th Round, 2006
Ike Davis 2004 1st Round, 2008
Christopher Nelson 2003 1st Round, 2004
 Give us your feedback
Copyright 1994-2021 by Perfect Game. All rights reserved. No portion of this information may be reprinted or reproduced without the written consent of Perfect Game.