Tournaments | Story | 6/26/2019

PG Top 10: 14u WWBA

Blake Dowson        
Photo: Carter Kieboom (Perfect Game)

2019 14u WWBA National Championship: Event Page

Eyes will be on Hoover, Ala. this weekend as the 2019 WWBA 14u National Championship comes into town. 116 teams, all loaded with talented players in the 2023 class, will be on display. From 2007 through 2011 the tournament was dominated by the East Cobb Astros, who won four times in that five-year stretch. Since 2011, however, a new champion has been crowned each year. Below are the past 10 champions and the state they call home.

2018 – Canes National (Va.)
2017 – Academy Select (Texas)
2016 – Roadrunners Baseball (Ga.)
2015 – East Coast Sox Prime (Miss.)
2014 – Upstate Mavericks (S.C.)
2013 – Kentucky Baseball Club (Ky.) & Louisiana Tigers (La.)
2012 – San Diego Show (Calif.)
2011 – East Cobb Astros (Ga.)
2010 – East Cobb Astros (Ga.)
2009 – Dulin Dodgers (Tenn.)

22 alumni of the WWBA 14U National Championship have gone on to make their MLB debut, including a number of Top 10 draft picks. 2015 No. 1 overall pick Dansby Swanson played in the tournament back in 2007, 2016 No. 2 overall pick Nick Senzel played in 2009 and 2012 No. 10 pick David Dahl played in 2008. Carter Kieboom, who was drafted in the first round by the Washington Nationals in 2016, won the 14u National Championship with the East Cobb Astros in 2011.

 Give us your feedback
Copyright 1994-2020 by Perfect Game. All rights reserved. No portion of this information may be reprinted or reproduced without the written consent of Perfect Game.