2015 Perfect Game All-American Classic - San Diego

Before 6,123 fans in beautiful Petco Park the 13th annual Perfect Game All-American Classic saw the East defeat the West by a score of 3-1. It was the East squad’s first win in four years and fifth overall in the series. The East team drew first blood with a pair of runs in the fifth inning and held off a bases-loaded threat from the West in the bottom of the ninth to secure the victory.

Pitching was the story of the Classic early on, setting a tone that runs would be a premium. Through the first four innings of the game, the score was knotted at zero and both sides had a combined five hits, three for the East and two for the West.

A wild pitch and a big extra-base hit began to pay dividends for the East in the top of the fifth. Alex Kirilloff – who hit a leadoff single, stole second and advanced to third on a fly out – scored on a wild pitch. On the next pitch, Brandon McIlwain ripped a triple to the base of the outfield wall in center field and scored on an error, giving the East a 2-0 lead.

In the top of the eighth Nolan Jones hit the game’s third triple, scoring Mario Feliciano, who was hit by a pitch, giving the East a 3-1 advantage.

In the bottom of the ninth, with a save opportunity on the line, the East sent Joshua Lowe to the hill to secure the win, but it didn’t come without its nail-biting moments. Lowe allowed a base hit and a pair of walks and was saved twice defensively as game MVP Carlos Cortes and Khalil Lee made stellar defensive plays in the outfield. With the bases loaded Lowe struck out Blake Rutherford to end the game.

About an hour before the Classic’s first pitch, the semifinals and finals of the Home Run Challenge were held with two sluggers from each team squaring off. By the time the final round was complete, East Team lefthanded masher Alex Kirilloff from New Kensington, Pa., took home the championship trophy. Kirilloff went head-to-head against the West’s Blake Rutherford from Simi Valley, Calif. in the finals and Kirilloff launched six straight bombs with his last six swings to knock-off Rutherford by the final count of 12-11.

2015 Game Recap
2015 Box Score
2015 Event Blog

East Roster

NoPlayerPosHigh School
33 Ian Anderson RHP Shenendehowa, NY
3 Tyler Baum RHP West Orange, FL
37 Jeff Belge LHP Henninger, NY
34 Austin Bergner RHP Windermere Prep, FL
13 Luke Berryhill C River Ridge, GA
28 Grant Bodison SS Mauldin, SC
14 Carlos A Cortes C Lake Howell, FL
11 Luis A. Curbelo SS Cocoa, FL
23 Mario Feliciano C Carlos Beltran Baseball Academy, PR
36 Braxton Garrett LHP Florence, AL
40 Jason Groome LHP Barnegat, NJ
27 Max Guzman C Calvary Christian Academy, FL
9 Zachary Hess RHP Liberty Christian Academy, AL
17 Herbert Iser C Osceola, FL
10 Nolan Jones SS Holy Ghost Prep, PA
8 Alex Kirilloff 1B Plum, PA
2 Khalil Lee OF Flint Hill, VA
32 Anthony Locey RHP Houston County, GA
26 Joshua Lowe 3B Pope, GA
12 Brandon McIlwain OF Council Rock North, PA
22 Drew Mendoza 1B Lake Minneola, FL
16 Cole Ragans LHP North Florida Christian, FL
6 Joe Rizzo 3B Oakton, VA
25 Francisco Thomas SS Osceola, FL
15 Alexis Torres SS Colegio Angel David, PR

West Roster

NoPlayerPosHigh School
7 Ben Baird SS Agoura, CA
13 TJ Collett 1B Terre Haute North Vigo, IN
23 Drake Fellows RHP Joliet Catholic Academy, IL
10 Tyler Fitzgerald SS Rochester, IL
4 Dominic Fletcher OF Cypress, CA
24 Kevin Gowdy RHP Santa Barbara, CA
2 David Hamilton SS San Marcos, TX
11 Dion Henderson LHP Oak Park, MI
17 Karl Kauffmann RHP Brother Rice, MI
29 Charles King RHP Coppell, TX
35 Reggie Lawson RHP Victor Valley, CA
28 Nick Lodolo LHP Damien, CA
26 Gavin Lux SS Indian Trail Academy, WI
38 Matt Manning RHP Sheldon, CA
22 Mickey Moniak OF La Costa Canyon, CA
12 Nicholas Quintana 3B Arbor View, NV
15 Walker Robbins 1B George County, MS
14 Ben Rortvedt C Verona Area, WI
25 Blake Rutherford OF Chaminade College Preparatory, CA
27 Blake Sabol OF Aliso Niguel, CA
6 Jaren Shelby OF Tates Creek, KY
33 Cole Stobbe SS Millard West, NE
34 Mason Thompson RHP Round Rock, TX
36 Avery Tuck OF Steele Canyon, CA
19 Nolan (Nonie) Williams SS Home School, N/a
18 Ryan Zeferjahn RHP Seaman, KS

Game Awards

• MVP: Carlos Cortes
• Home Run Challenge Champion: Alex Kirilloff
• Jackie Robinson Award: Jason Groome
• Rawlings Defensive Player of the Year: Grant Bodison
• Baseball America Pitcher of the Year: Ian Anderson
• EvoShield SWAG Award: Blake Rutherford
• Perfect Game Nick Adenhart Award: Jeff Belge
• Web Gem Grunt Award: Carlos Cortes
• Zepp Labs Heart & Hustle Award: Cole Stobbe
• TrackMan Award: Tyler Baum
• MLB Network Radio on SiriusXM Two-Way Player of the Year: Joshua Lowe
• Baseball Prospectus Prospect of the Year: Avery Tuck
• Louisville Slugger Most Outstanding Offensive Player: Mickey Moniak

Statistical Performers

• Hits: Carlos Cortes, Walker Robbins (2)
• Runs: Alex Kirilloff, Brandon McIlwain, Mario Feliciano, Ben Baird (1)
• Stolen Bases: Mickey Moniak (2)
• Runs Batted In: Nolan Jones, Walker Robbins (1)
• Doubles: Blake Rutherford (1)
• Triples: Brandon McIwain, Nolan Jones, Walker Robbins (1)
• Strikeouts: Seven players with two (2)
Perfect Game event profile
Copyright 1995-2019 by Perfect Game. All rights reserved. No portion of this information may be reprinted or reproduced without the written consent of Perfect Game.