2009 Aflac All-American Classic - San Diego

The Classic returned to San Diego and PETCO Park and the game was played in front of a record crowd of 8,027. The All-Americans battled hard to record the first ever tie in the history of the Classic, making the overall series record 3-3-1.

Game MVP and Rawlings Gold Glove Award winner, Tony Wolters had two hits, one of which plated the game tying run in the ninth inning. He also scored twice, stole a base and displayed solid fielding at the short stop position. The nation’s top pitching prospect Jameson Taillon looked the part, as he started the contest for the West and pitched two scoreless innings, while recording four strikeouts.

The East Team trailed from the start. It wasn’t until the eighth inning that the East managed to take the lead as Jacoby Jones knocked in Trey Griffin and Michael Arencibia scored on a wild pitch. East pitchers kept the game close throughout. Kaleb Cowart, DeAndre Smelter, Stetson Allie and A.J. Cole dominated on the mound and kept the game close throughout.

Other notable award winners include Bryce Harper as the Jackie Robinson Player of the Year and Yordy Cabrera as the Home Run Derby Champion.

East Roster

PlayerPosHigh School
Stetson Allie RHP St. Edward, OH
Zach Alvord IF South Forsyth, GA
Michael Arencibia OF Key West, FL
Tyler Austin C Heritage,
Robert Aviles RHP Suffern, NY
Cameron Bedrosian RHP East Coweta, GA
Yordy Cabrera IF Lakeland, FL
Chevez Clarke OF Marietta, GA
Andrew Cole RHP Oviedo, FL
Kaleb Cowart OF Cook County, GA
Reginald Golden OF Wetumpka, AL
Conrad Gregor 1B Carmel, IN
Trey Griffin OF Martin Luther King, GA
Jacoby Jones IF Richton, MS
Connor Narron IF Charles B Aycock, NC
Justin O'Conner IF Cowan, IN
Shane Rowland C Tampa Catholic, FL
DeAndre Smelter RHP Tattnall, GA
Brandon Stephens C Lassiter, GA
Karsten Whitson RHP Chipley, FL

West Roster

PlayerPosHigh School
Krey Bratsen OF Bryan, TX
Kris Bryant IF Bonanza, NV
Dylan Covey RHP Maranatha, CA
Kevin Gausman RHP Grandview, CO
Bryce Harper C Las Vegas Academy, NV
Jared Lakind OF Cy-Woods, TX
Matt Lipka IF McKinney, TX
Marcus Littlewood IF Pineview, UT
Michael Lorenzen OF Fullerton Union, CA
Brian Ragira OF James Martin,
Stefan Sabol C Aliso Niquel, CA
Josh Sale OF Bishop Blanchet, WA
Aaron Sanchez RHP Barstow, CA
Tyler Shreve RHP Redlands East Valley, CA
Kellen Sweeney SS Thomas Jefferson, IA
Peter Tago RHP Dana Hills, CA
Jameson Taillon RHP The Woodlands, TX
Albert (AJ) Vanegas RHP Redwood Christian, CA
Austin Wilson OF Harvard Westlake, CA
Tony Wolters IF Rancho Buena Vista, CA

Game Awards

• MVP Award: Tony Wolters
• Jackie Robinson Award: Bryce Harper
• Home Run Derby Champion: Yordy Cabrera

Statistical Performers

• Hits: Tony Wolters (2)
• Runs: Matt Lipka (2)
• Strikeouts: Jameson Taillon (4 in 2 innings), DeAndre Smelter (3 in 1 inning)

Perfect Game event profile

Copyright 1995-2019 by Perfect Game. All rights reserved. No portion of this information may be reprinted or reproduced without the written consent of Perfect Game.