College | Rankings | 9/5/2019

NECBL Top Prospects

Jheremy Brown        
Photo: TT Bowens (Steve McLaughlin Photograph/CCSU Athletics)

Year Established: 1993
States Represented:  Connecticut, Massachusetts, Maine, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, Vermont
No. of Teams: 13
Regular Season Champion (best overall record): Martha’s Vineyard Sharks (28-16)
Postseason Champion:  Keene Swamp Bats (30-19)
No. 1 Prospect, 2018: Tim Tawa, of, Newport (Stanford)
First 2018 Player Selected, 2019 Draft: Kody Hoese, 3b, Newport (Tulane; Dodgers/1st Round)

Player of the Year: TT Bowens, 1b, Mystic (Central Connecticut)  
Pitcher of the Year: Ryan Murphy, rhp, Vermont (Le Moyne)

After the Ray Vincent Sr. Cup resided in Holyoke, Massachusetts for each of the previous two summers, the Keene Swamp Bats thought the title should travel north after going 4-1 through the playoff series. Their lone loss came to the Martha’s Vineyard Sharks in game one of the championship series, a club that immediately jumped into the thick of things during their first season in the NECBL. Game one proved to set the tone for the subsequent games as all three were decided by four or less runs.

With the series knotted at a game apiece between the top two teams during the regular season it was the Sharks who stuck first in the top of the third inning with their middle of the order, Nicholas Raposo and Jackson Raper, driving in a run apiece. The Sharks’ momentum was short lived as the Swamp Bats came alive and eight-hole hitter David Matthews delivered the big blow in the form of a three-run home run, giving his team a 4-2 lead that they wouldn’t relinquish the rest of the way.

There were plenty of highlights, of course, through the all-star game and regular season, again giving a glimpse to some of the top prospects for the 2020 and 2021 MLB Drafts. TT Bowens of Central Connecticut State took the league by storm, proving no opposing pitcher was safe with from offensive outburst, setting the stage for a big spring season with which he could continue to rise draft boards. And as in year’s past, the NECBL served as a platform for underclass talent to shine from the Vanderbilt duo in Newport of Justyn-Henry Malloy and Isaiah Thomas to Keene’s Luke Albright (Kent State). A pair of draft-eligible sophomores also shined with Martha’s Vineyard Nander De Sedas (Florida State) and Newport’s Hudson Haskin (Tulane).

Righthander Ryan Murphy (La Moyne) of the Vermont Mountaineers took home the Robin Roberts Best Starting Pitcher award after going 5-2 on the summer with 55 punchouts over 48 innings, showing a fastball that worked in the 88-90 mph range with deception and a tight slider. Big arms were aplenty in New England as a plethora of arms that lived in the low-90s with several more ramping their heaters up into the mid-90s, including Luke Albright, the NECBL’s second-ranked prospect behind Bowens.

Top 20 Prospects

This is PG 'College Baseball Ticket/Insider' Level content.
You must be either an Insider, Premium, Scout, or College Baseball Ticket subscriber to read the rest.

Sign in CrossChecker CBT
 Give us your feedback
Copyright 1994-2019 by Perfect Game. All rights reserved. No portion of this information may be reprinted or reproduced without the written consent of Perfect Game.