Photo: Alex Kirilloff (Perfect Game)

2018 PG Minor League All-Stars

Patrick Ebert

Published: Thursday, September 20, 2018

The 2018 Perfect Game Minor League All-Star Team is the 13th of its kind, starting back in 2006 which has essentially served as a preview of the players ready to make their impact at the Major League level. The team collects the best annual performers in the minor leagues, players that attended a Perfect Game event while in high school. Corey Seager, Carlos Correa, Kris Bryant, Javier Baez, Clayton Kershaw, Mike Trout, Paul Goldschmidt, Anthony Rizzo, Mookie Betts, Buster Posey, Madison Bumgarner, Joey Votto, and Gerrit Cole have been honored during that time and are among the game's brightest stars.

Here are the links to the previous teams:

2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011
2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017

2018 Perfect Game Minor League All-Stars (First Team)

Pos. Player Organization Level AVG OBP SLG XBH
C Danny Jansen Blue Jays AAA .275 .390 .473 34
1B Peter Alonso Mets AA/AAA .285 .395 .579 68
2B Brandon Lowe Rays AA/AAA .297 .391 .558 54
3B Nolan Gorman Cardinals R/A .291 .380 .570 31
SS Gavin Lux Dodgers A+/AA .324 .399 .514 50
OF Alex Kirilloff Twins A/A+ .348 .392 .578 71
OF Jo Adell Angels A/A+/AA .290 .355 .543 56
OF Eloy Jimenez White Sox AA/AAA .337 .384 .577 53
DH Kyle Tucker Astros AAA .332 .400 .590 54
Pos. Player Organization Level W-L ERA IP K:BB
SP Dylan Cease White Sox A+/AA 12-2 2.40 124 160:50
SP Touki Toussaint Braves AA/AAA 9-6 2.38 136.1 163:53
SP Justus Sheffield Yankees AA/AAA 7-6 2.48 116 123:50
SP Stephen Gonsalves Twins AA/AAA 12-3 2.76 120.2 120:65
SP Patrick Sandoval Angels A/A+/AA 11-1 2.06 122.1 145:29
RP Colin Poche Rays AA/AAA 6-0 0.82 66 110:19

2018 Perfect Game Minor League All-Stars (Second Team)

Pos. Player Organization Level AVG OBP SLG XBH
C Austin Allen Padres AA .290 .351 .506 53
1B Nathaniel Lowe Rays A+/AA/AAA .330 .416 .568 60
2B Kevin Kramer Pirates AAA .311 .365 .492 53
3B Bobby Dalbec Red Sox A+/AA .257 .361 .558 70
SS Kevin Smith Blue Jays A/A+ .302 .358 .528 62
OF Austin Dean Marlins AA/AAA .345 .410 .511 37
OF Corey Ray Brewers AA .239 .323 .477 66
OF Drew Waters Braves A/A+ .293 .343 .476 57
DH Tyler O'Neill Cardinals AAA .311 .385 .693 37
Pos. Player Organization Level W-L ERA IP K:BB
SP Jesus Luzardo Athletics A+/AA/AAA 10-5 2.88 109.1 129:30
SP Ian Anderson Braves A+/AA 4-7 2.49 119.1 142:49
SP Logan Allen Padres AA/AAA 14-6 2.54 148.2 151:51
SP Mike King Yankees A+/AA/AAA 11-5 1.79 161.1 152:29
SP Chris Paddack Padres A+/AA 7-3 2.10 90 120:8
RP Tyler Johnson White Sox A/A+ 9-0 1.40 58 89:16

Fun Facts:

The Rays, Twins, Angels and White Sox each have two first-teamers. The Rays, White Sox and Braves have the most total players mentioned with three each, while the Blue Jays and Padres each have two players recognized.

Both Kyle Tucker and Danny Jansen are returning to the first team for the second straight year, while Peter Alonso and Eloy Jimenez move up from the second team (Jimenez also made the second team in 2016). This is the third year that Stephen Gonsalves has found himself on the first team after being honored in both 2015 and 2016, while second team DH Tyler O'Neill was also honored as a first teamer in 2015-16.

Of the 30 players nine of them (Jansen, Lowe, Tucker, Toussaint, Sheffield, Gonsalves, Kramer, Dean, O'Neill) were called up to the big leagues.

Of the 15 first team all-stars, 10 have previously played in the Perfect Game All-American Classic (Gorman, Lux, Kirilloff, Adell, Tucker, Cease, Tousaint, Sheffield, Gonsalves, Sandoval). Two of the second teamers (Waters, Anderson) have also participated in the Classic.

Nolan Gorman is the only player listed that was drafted this past year, making his professional debut at the Cardinals Rookie affiliate before being called up to the Midwest League. Gorman was named the MVP of the 2017 Classic by driving in four runs, two of which came on a booming two-run home run.

In addition to the all-stars listed above further congratulations are in order for the players honored by the respective leagues they played in after being named the player or pitcher of the year. Here are those players that have previously attended a Perfect Game event:

Dakota Hudson: Pacific League (AAA) Pitcher of the Year
Joey Curletta: Texas League (AA) Player of the Year
Logan Allen: Texas League (AA) Pitcher of the Year
Corey Ray: Southern League (AA) Player of the Year
Zack Brown: Southern League (AA) Pitcher of the Year
Cavan Biggio: Eastern League (AA) Player of the Year
Rylan Bannon: California League (A+) Player of the Year
Bobby Dalbec: Carolina League (A+) Player of the Year
Wil Crowe: Carolina League (A+) Pitcher of the Year
Patrick Murphy: Florida State League (A+) Pitcher of the Year
Casey Golden: South Atlantic League (A) Player of the Year
Curtis Terry: Northwest League (R) Player of the Year
Josh Winckowski: Northwest League (R) Pitcher of the Year
JC Cloney: Pioneer League (R) Pitcher of the Year
Andrew Warner: Gulf Coast League (R) Player of the Year

Copyright 1994-2019 by Perfect Game. All rights reserved. No portion of this information may be reprinted or reproduced without the written consent of Perfect Game.