Perfect Game Forum

Messages in this topic - RSS

Home » College Baseball Clubhouse » Stupidest Baseball Rule Ever?

Want to make your opinion heard or just chat about college baseball? This is your place.
| you must log in at the top of the page to post
5/11/2012 3:58:52 PM

Posts: 1465
In the Oregon State/Utah game today, the Beaver’s center fielder caught a fly ball and collided with the left fielder. The center fielder was hurt, laying on the ground motionless, so the left fielder took the ball out of the center fielder’s mitt and showed the umpire that the ball was caught. The umpire ruled the ball to be dropped and as a result, the Utah hitter earned an in the park homerun.

Does anyone know the purpose of this rule? Seems like a really stupid rule.

I’ve copied the rule below from the College Baseball rulebook as well as the link to the rulebook.

SECTION 15. The act of a fielder in getting secure possession in the hand or
glove of a ball in flight and firmly holding it, providing the fielder does not use
the cap, protector, pocket or any other part of the uniform in getting possession.
In establishing the validity of the catch, the fielder shall demonstrate complete
control of the ball and that the release of the ball is voluntary and intentional.
a. If the fielder has made the catch and drops the ball while in the act of
making a throw (i.e., reaching for the ball in the glove) after the catch, the
ball shall be judged to have been caught.
b. If a fielder falls over or through the fence after making a catch within the
field of play, the batter shall be retired and the ball is dead (see 6-1-d and
c. It is not a catch if, simultaneously with or immediately after contact with the
ball, the fielder collides with a player or fence or falls down and, as a result,
drops the ball.
d. It is not a catch if a fielder touches a fly ball that then hits a member of the
offensive team or an umpire and then is caught by that fielder or another
defensive player.
e. It is not a legal catch if either foot is touching dead-ball territory when the
catch is made (see 6-1-d-4).
edited by BeaverBob on 5/11/2012
+1 permalink
5/16/2012 5:30:15 AM

Posts: 4
Simple response to the umpire that misinterprets this rule: If the ball never touched the ground, the guy that took the ball out of the other player's glove "caught" the ball and had the voluntary release.
edited by CAT on 5/16/2012
+1 permalink
| you must log in at the top of the page to post

Home » College Baseball Clubhouse » Stupidest Baseball Rule Ever?

Powered by AspNetForum © 2006-2010 Jitbit Software
About Perfect Game :: Contact us :: Site Map
Copyright 1994-2016 by Perfect Game. All rights reserved. No portion of this information may be reprinted or reproduced without the written consent of Perfect Game.