2005 Aflac All-American Classic - Aberdeen

Devin Shepherd earned Most Valuable Player honors at the third annual Aflac All-American Baseball Classic, as he led the West team to an 8-4 win in front of a crowd of more than 4,000 at Ripken Stadium. Shepherd filled the stat sheet going 2 for 3, with two singles, two walks, one RBI and he scored twice.

However, it was Nathan Bridges who started the scoring for the West. His two-run double, down the left field line, in the top of the second drove in Shepherd and Jeff Rapoport after they hit consecutive singles. Brett Anderson was the winning pitcher, but the West team had many strong throwers including Jordan Walden and Kyle Drabek.

The East team got on the board in the bottom of the fourth inning when Chris Marrero doubled home Billy Rowell and Andrew Clark. Several East pitchers starred on the mound, including Dellin Betances who pitched a scoreless second inning. Cory Rasmus and Chris Walden also pitched scoreless innings and tallied two strikeouts each.

East Roster

PlayerPosHigh School
Dellin Betances RHP Grand Street, NY
Brent Brewer OF Sandy Creek, GA
David Christensen OF Stoneman Douglas, FL
Andrew Clark 1B New Palestine, IN
Cedric Hunter OF Martin Luther King, GA
Ryan Jackson SS Florida Christian, FL
Jeremy Jeffress RHP Halifax County, VA
Cody Johnson OF Mosley, FL
Kasey Kiker LHP Russell County, AL
Torre Langley C Alexander, GA
Matthew Latos RHP Coconut Creek, FL
Chris Marrero 3B Monsignor Pace, FL
Cory Rasmus RHP Russell County, AL
Derrick Robinson OF P.K. Yonge,
Billy Rowell 3B Bishop Eustace Prep, NJ
Max Sapp C Bishop Moore, FL
Gerald Sullivan RHP Mt Olive, NJ
Chris Walden RHP Bellefontaine, OH
Colton Willems RHP John Carroll, FL

West Roster

PlayerPosHigh School
Ryan Adams MIF Jesuit, LA
Robby Alcombrack C Bear River, CA
Brett Anderson LHP Stillwater, OK
Nathan Bridges IF Villa Park, CA
Gavin Brooks LHP Rancho Buena Vista, CA
Kyle Drabek RHP The Woodlands, TX
Grant Green SS Canyon, CA
Taylor Hammack LHP Angleton, TX
Ryan Jenkins RHP Cypress Falls, TX
Aaron Miller 1B Channelview, TX
Jared Mitchell OF Westgate, LA
Chris Parmelee OF Chino Hills, CA
Jeff Rapoport OF Westlake, CA
Chad Robinson RHP Silverado, NV
Drew Rundle OF Bend, OR
Devin Shepherd OF Oxnard, CA
Chris Tillman RHP Fountain Valley, CA
Jordan Walden RHP Mansfield, TX

Game Awards

• MVP Award: Devin Shepherd
• Jackie Robinson Award: Cody Johnson
• Home Run Derby Champion: Robby Alcombrack

Statistical Performers

• Hits: Nathan Bridges, Grant Green, Ryan Jackson, Jeff Rapoport, Billy Rowell, Devin Shepherd (2)
• Runs: Billy Rowell, Devin Shepherd (2)
• Runs Batted In: Nathan Bridges, Chris Marrero (2)
• Strikeouts: Kyle Drabek, Mat Latos (4 in 2 innings)

Perfect Game event profile

Copyright 1995-2019 by Perfect Game. All rights reserved. No portion of this information may be reprinted or reproduced without the written consent of Perfect Game.