2004 Aflac All-American Classic - Aberdeen

The 4-2 victory by the West team evened the series at one game all. A crowd of 4,006 fans filled Ripken Stadium, in Aberdeen, MD, and were treated to another closely contested matchup of the nations best high school baseball prospects. The game was once again televised to a national audience on Fox Sports Net.

West team first baseman Ike Davis, son of former MLB pitcher Ron Davis, took home MVP honors. The powerful lefty gave the West an early lead with a long two run homer in the second inning. Other West standouts included John Drennen, who went 2 for 2 with a run scored and two stolen bases, and Brett Wallace, who set a new record with three stolen bases.

The East All-Americans were led by Andrew McCutchen, who set a record with four hits. The East team also featured the first annual Jackie Robinson Player of the Year Award winner in Justin Upton.

Impressive outings by Sean O’Sullivan and Shane Funk, who both fanned three batters in one inning, topped the pitching prospect performances for 2004.

East Roster

PlayerPosHigh School
Justin Bristow SS Mills Goodwin, VA
Bradley Clark RHP Hillsborough, FL
David DiNatale OF Stoneman Douglas, FL
Chris Dominguez 3B Gulliver Prep, FL
Jonathan Egan C Cross Creek, GA
Shane Funk RHP Arnold, FL
Ralph Henriquez C Key West, FL
Steve Johnson RHP St. Paul's, MD
Matt Lea RHP Houston, TN
Kent Matthes 3B Edgewater, FL
Cameron Maybin OF TC Roberson, NC
Andrew McCutchen OF Fort Meade, FL
Mark Ortega SS Palm Beach Gardens, FL
P.J. Phillips SS Redan, GA
Buster Posey RHP Lee County, GA
Miers Quigley LHP Roswell, GA
Iain Sebastian RHP Columbus, GA
Justin Upton SS Great Bridge, VA
Chris Volstad RHP Palm Beach Gardens, FL
Josh Zeid RHP Hamden Hall Country Day, CT

West Roster

PlayerPosHigh School
Ben Booker IF Lorena, TX
Jordan Danks OF Round Rock, TX
Ike Davis 1B Cibola, AZ
Ryan DeLaughter OF Denton Ryan, TX
John Drennen OF Rancho Bernardo, CA
Diallo Fon OF Las Lomas, CA
Jeremy Hellickson RHP Hoover, IA
C.J. Henry SS Putnam City, OK
Austin Jackson OF Denton Ryan, TX
Beau Jones LHP Destrehan, LA
Jeff Lyman RHP Monte Vista, CA
Eric Massingham RHP De La Salle, CA
Kyle Maxie C North Forrest, MS
Ryan Mitchell RHP Magnolia, TX
Sean O'Sullivan RHP Valhalla, CA
Preston Paramore C Allen, TX
Zach Putnam RHP Pioneer, MI
Nick Romero SS Eastlake, CA
Ryan Tucker RHP Temple City, CA
Brett Wallace 3B Justin Siena, CA

Game Awards

• MVP Award: Ike Davis
• Jackie Robinson Award: Justin Upton
• Home Run Derby Champion: Jordan Danks

Statistical Performers

• Hits: Andrew McCutchen (4)
• Home Runs: Ike Davis (1)
• Stolen Bases: Ben Booker, John Drennen, Cameron Maybin, Brett Wallace (2)
• Strikeouts: Shane Funk, Sean O'Sullivan (3 in 1 inning)

Perfect Game event profile

Copyright 1995-2019 by Perfect Game. All rights reserved. No portion of this information may be reprinted or reproduced without the written consent of Perfect Game.