Not a member yet?
Subscribe Now!

All American Game : : Story
Jackie Robinson Award Finalists
Patrick Ebert        
Published: Wednesday, August 10, 2011

The Jackie Robinson Award, named for the late Major League Baseball Hall of Famer and former Brooklyn Dodger, is awarded annually to the Perfect Game National Player of the Year – the All-American considered the nation’s top high school prospect. The award is presented to the player who exhibits outstanding character, leadership, is involved in his community and embodies the values of being a student-athlete.

Jackie Robinson came from humble beginnings as the son of a sharecropper in Cairo, Georgia, to become the first black player to break Major League Baseball’s color barrier that had segregated the sport for more than 50 years. Jackie Robinson was not only a skilled baseball player, he was an excellent all-around athlete. At UCLA, Robinson became the first athlete to win varsity letters in four sports: Baseball, football, basketball and track.

After attending UCLA, Robinson briefly served in the U.S. Army, and after receiving an honorable discharge, he played one season in Negro Baseball League in 1945. Two years later in 1947, Robinson was approached by the Brooklyn Dodgers about joining their franchise. When he donned their uniform, he not only became the first black player in Major League Baseball since the sport was segregated in 1889, he pioneered the integration in professional sports in America. Through his integration, Robinson courageously challenged the racism that existed in both the north and the south in America at that time. At the end of Robinson’s rookie season with the Dodgers, he won the National League batting title (.342) on his way to earning the league's Rookie of the Year and MVP honors.

Robinson was inducted into the Baseball Hall of Fame in 1962 and was inducted into UCLA’s Hall of Fame in 1984.

On April 15, 1997, exactly 50 years after he broke the color barrier in Major League Baseball, the entire nation honored his legacy. Robinson’s No. 42 jersey number was retired league-wide, the first and only player to earn this honor. That same day, President Bill Clinton paid tribute to Robinson at the New York Mets’ Shea Stadium in a special ceremony. Robinson was also honored by the United States Postal Service that year with a commemorative postage stamp.

Jackie Robinson’s life and legacy will continue to be remembered as one of the most important in American history.

2011 Jackie Robinson Award Finalists

Taylore Cherry
6-1 record with a 2.32 ERA, 102 strikeouts in 59 innings

Joey Gallo
Batted .471 with 25 home runs and 76 RBI; 1.12 ERA with 29 strikeouts in 19 innings

Lucas Giolito
9-1 record with a 1.00 ERA, 78 strikeouts in 70.33 innings

C.J. Hinojosa
Batted .405 with 17 home runs, 61 RBI, a .461 on-base percentage at 12 stolen bases

Lance McCullers
Batted .422 with 7 home runs and 24 RBI; 2.02 ERA with 79 strikeouts in 52 innings

Duane Underwood
Batted .361 with 5 home runs and 20 RBI; 6-1 record with a 2.32 ERA

Nick Williams
Batted .537 with 13 home runs, 30 RBI, a .627 on-base percentage and 14 stolen bases

Trey Williams
Batted .345 with 9 home runs, 20 RBI, a .446 on-base percentage and 28 runs

Recent Related Articles
Watch the 2015 Classic online
Watch the entire 2015 Perfect Game All-American Classic, direct from the broadcast on MLB Network, streamed online for everyo... READ 
2015 PG All-American Classic blog
The 2015 PG All-American Classic comes to a close with the East beating the West, 3-1. Included in the blog are the peak velo... READ 
East beats West in 2015 Classic
Carlos Cortes was named the MVP of the 2015 Perfect Game All-American Classic thanks to a 2-for-4 effort at the plate, as the... READ 
Most Viewed Related Articles
PG All-American Classic Rosters
The rosters for the 2015 Perfect Game All-American Classic have been released. Click here to view the 49 other players that w... READ 
2015 PG All-American Classic blog
The 2015 PG All-American Classic comes to a close with the East beating the West, 3-1. Included in the blog are the peak velo... READ 
2015 PG All-American Classic
Honorary Chairman Trevor Hoffman (right) and Craig Kimbrell (left) welcome San Diego native Avery Tuck as the first player of... READ 

Keywords in this article
       Player Profile Page    Event Page